US & Canada

Canada: Andrew Scheer Announces Conservative Shadow Cabinet

 November 29, 2019


OTTAWA, ON – The Honourable Andrew Scheer, Leader of Canada’s Conservatives and of the Official Opposition, today announced the Conservative Shadow Cabinet for the first session of the 43rd Parliament.

“Our Conservative team is united, experienced and focused on finishing the job we started and replacing the Trudeau Liberals,” Scheer said. “The Shadow Cabinet I have announced today reflects the growing strength of our team and our commitment to work for Canadians from coast to coast.”

Conservative House of Commons Leadership Team:
  • Deputy Leader: Leona Alleslev (Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill, Ontario)
  • Quebec Political Lieutenant: Alain Rayes (Richmond—Arthabaska, Quebec)
  • House Leader of the Official Opposition: Hon. Candice Bergen (Portage—Lisgar, Manitoba)
  • Chief Opposition Whip: Mark Strahl (Chilliwack—Hope, British Columbia)
  • Deputy House Leader of the Official Opposition: John Nater (Perth—Wellington, Ontario)
  • Deputy Opposition Whip: John Brassard (Barrie—Innisfil, Ontario)
  • Caucus-Party Liaison: Hon. Diane Finley (Haldimand—Norfolk, Ontario)
  • Conservative National Caucus Chair: Tom Kmiec (Calgary Shepard, Alberta)
  • Caucus-OLO Coordinator: Chris Warkentin (Grande Prairie—Mackenzie, Alberta)
Conservative Shadow Cabinet:
  • Ziad Aboultaif (Edmonton Manning, Alberta) – Digital Government
  • Dan Albas (Central Okanagan—Simillkameen—Nicola, British Columbia) – Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion
  • Mel Arnold (North Okanagan—Shuswap, British Columbia) – Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  • John Barlow (Foothills, Alberta) – Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Michael Barrett (Leeds—Grenville—Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes, Ontario) – Ethics
  • Luc Berthold (Mégantic—L’Érable, Quebec) – Infrastructure and Communities
  • James Bezan (Selkirk—Interlake—Eastman, Manitoba) – National Defence
  • Hon. Steven Blaney (Bellechasse—Les Etchemins—Lévis, Quebec) – Canadian Heritage
  • Kelly Block (Carlton Trail—Eagle Creek, Saskatchewan) – Public Services and Procurement
  • Colin Carrie (Oshawa, Ontario) – Canada/US Relations and Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
  • Hon. Michael Chong (Wellington—Halton Hills, Ontario) – Democratic Institutions
  • James Cumming (Edmonton Centre, Alberta) – Small Business and Export Promotion
  • Raquel Dancho (Kildonan—St. Paul, Manitoba) – Diversity and Inclusion and Youth
  • Chris d’Entremont (West Nova, Nova Scotia) – Official Languages and Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Gérard Deltell (Louis-Saint-Laurent, Quebec) – Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Todd Doherty (Cariboo—Prince George, British Columbia) – Transport
  • Hon. Kerry-Lynne Findlay (South Surrey—White Rock, British Columbia) – Environment and Climate Change
  • Cheryl Gallant (Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke, Ontario) – Veterans Affairs (Associate) and Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
  • Bernard Généreux (Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec) – Rural Economic Development and Economic Development Agency of Canada for Regions of Quebec
  • Garnett Genuis (Sherwood Park—Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta) – Multiculturalism
  • Marilyn Gladu (Sarnia—Lambton, Ontario) – Health
  • Tracy Gray (Kelowna—Lake Country, British Columbia) – Interprovincial Trade
  • Randy Hoback (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan) – International Trade
  • Matt Jeneroux (Edmonton Riverbend, Alberta) – Infrastructure and Communities (Associate)
  • Pat Kelly (Calgary Rocky Ridge, Alberta) – Finance (Associate)
  • Hon. Peter Kent (Thornhill, Ontario) – Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  • Stephanie Kusie (Calgary Midnapore, Alberta) – Families, Children and Social Development
  • Hon. Mike Lake (Edmonton—Wetaskiwin, Alberta) – International Development
  • Richard Lehoux (Beauce, Quebec) – Agriculture and Agri-Food (Associate)
  • Richard Martel (Chicoutimi—Le Fjord, Quebec) – National Defence (Associate)
  • Phil McColeman (Brantford—Brant, Ontario) – Veterans Affairs
  • Cathy McLeod (Kamloops—Thompson—Cariboo, British Columbia) – Natural Resources (Forestry and Mining)
  • Hon. Rob Moore (Fundy Royal, New Brunswick) – Justice and Attorney General
  • Marty Morantz (Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley, Manitoba) – National Revenue
  • Glen Motz (Medicine Hat—Cardston—Warner, Alberta) – Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness (Associate)
  • Hon. Erin O’Toole (Durham, Ontario) – Foreign Affairs
  • Pierre Paul-Hus (Charlesbourg—Haute-Saint-Charles, Quebec) – Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Hon. Pierre Poilievre (Carleton, Ontario) – Finance and National Capital Commission
  • Hon. Michelle Rempel Garner (Calgary Nose Hill, Alberta) – Industry and Economic Development
  • Blake Richards (Banff—Airdrie, Alberta) – Tourism and Western Economic Diversification
  • Bob Saroya (Markham—Unionville, Ontario) – Queen’s Privy Council for Canada
  • Jamie Schmale (Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock, Ontario) – Crown-Indigenous Relations
  • Shannon Stubbs (Lakeland, Alberta) – Natural Resources
  • David Sweet (Flamborough—Glanbrook, Ontario) – International Human Rights and Religious Freedom
  • Hon. Tim Uppal (Edmonton Mill Woods, Alberta) – Treasury Board
  • Karen Vecchio (Elgin—Middlesex—London, Ontario) – Women and Gender Equality
  • Gary Vidal (Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River, Saskatchewan) – Indigenous Services
  • John Williamson (New Brunswick Southwest, New Brunswick) – Labour
  • Hon. Alice Wong (Richmond Centre, British Columbia) – Seniors
  • Bob Zimmer (Prince George—Peace River—Northern Rockies, British Columbia) – Northern Affairs and Northern Economic Development Agency